top of page

High Tech, Low Tech, Mid Tech? Let's Talk!


So I have several students using high tech AAC (Accent 1000, LAMP, ProLoQuo2Go, Tobii Dynavox EyeGaze, etc.) I also have students using icons to communicate their basic wants and needs (low tech AAC). However, I have yet to have a student using a mid tech device.

I recently had a preschooler move in, she was nonverbal, however use was able to use the sign for 'more'. So she understood cause/effect. Great! She also was able to isolate her pointer finger, and her vision appeared to be fine. I am huge into implementing AAC as soon as possible, so I figured I would get about my iPad and start trialing. We started with GoTalkNow. She appeared to understand the relationship between the picture on the screen and the objects on the table, however, I was using an iPad.. but why does this matter?? She had used an iPad before.. this posed two problems: the iPad was associated with play and she swiped her finger rather than just touching the screen. She wanted to PLAY. She was quick to find that center button that was meant for exiting the program (thank goodness for guided access). However, between the swiping and the desire to exit the program it was VERY difficult to activate a location. Therefore she did not get ANY verbal feedback from the device. UGHH!

 

I got out a GoTalk (Mid tech device) to see what would happen. This device allows you to insert pages and prerecord the location using your voice. I haven't had a student that I found a GoTalk appropriate for so I was excited. I thought of a few items I knew she liked and quickly added them to the Boardmaker Template (so easy!). I put some of the 'motivators' that were on the device, on the table.. she was quickly engaged and went for the book. I stopped her before she got it and modeled it on the device. We read a few pages and then I set it down. She went to grab the book, I pointed at the device, and she made the request!! This was all it took! She proceeded to ask for music and books throughout the duration of the session. I like the GoTalk because it provides immediate verbal feedback. She would imitate the device after she heard word! WOW! It just reinforces the idea that AAC does not hinder or delay language!!

 

Today we "read" Dragons Love Tacos. This book is filled with great pictures. I didn't use the real text because I was working with a preschooler, however, we went through the process of turning the pages. This book had so many great pictures it left me with the ability to create a simplified version of this story! It is definitely worth checking out!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page