top of page

Using AAC Through PLAY


This week I let one of my AAC users totally direct the session. Well... I had specific toys out I knew would elicit language/ core words that I was looking for.. but he didn't know that! I let my (somewhat stubborn) student think he was in charge, and it totally worked.

We played with blocks and were able to use sooo many different CORE words. We were able to use verbs (look, want, play, build, all done), prepositions (up, down), adjectives (colors, fast/slow). Remember: just because your students aren't using the words yet, doesn't mean we shouldn't model them!! My student so carefully watched every word I used and later on would use them himself. This was a really exciting week for me!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page